Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Voices from Larung Gar – Online Symposium

April 10 @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm

 

US Time Zones:
3-5:30pm PDT | 4-6:30pm MDT | 5-7:30pm CDT | 6-8:30pm EDT

 

Join us for the book launch of Voices from Larung Gar: Shaping Tibetan Buddhism for the Twenty-First Century.

The 2.5 hour symposium features Anam Thubten and David Germano in dialogue about Larung Gar, one of the largest Buddhist institution on the Tibetan plateau. This will be followed by a panel of contributors to the ground-breaking anthology, Voices from Larung Gar, addressing innovative approaches by Larung Gar leaders with respect to Buddhist ethics, gender equity, animal welfare, and scientific discourse.

This event is co-sponsored by the UVA Tibet Center and Tibet Himalaya Initiative at CU Boulder, under the auspices of CU Boulder’s Center for Asian Studies.

 

To Register in Advance: Sign up here to receive a reminder email once webinar registration is open. 

Panelists:

  • Geoffrey Barstow, Oregon State University
  • Catherine Hardie, Hong Kong Baptist University
  • Sarah Jacoby, Northwestern University
  • Padma ‘tsho, Southwest University for Nationalities
  • Antonio Terrone, Northwestern University

Hosts:

  • Holly Gayley, Tibet Himalaya Initiative at CU Boulder
  • Michael Sheehy, Tibet Center, University of Virginia

 

About the Book: 

Voices from Larung Gar is the first collection of talks and writings by the leading voices of Larung Buddhist Academy, better known as Larung Gar. The book offers a compelling vision for Buddhism in the twenty-first century by some of the most erudite, creative, and influential Tibetan Buddhist luminaries today. In everyday language, these leaders delve into an array of contemporary issues, including science, ethics, gender equity, and animal welfare.

This collection features contributions from a range of prominent figures who are forging dynamic, modern paths forward for an ancient tradition. Included are the internationally renowned Khenpo Jigme Phuntsok, founder of Larung Gar, his distinguished successors Khenpos Sodargye and Tsultrim Lodro, and erudite nuns holding the scholarly title Khenmo, who are becoming known for their impressive publishing projects. Larung Gar is thus one of Tibetan Buddhism’s most vital communities, actively balancing cultural preservation and innovation.

Organizers

Tibet Center, University of Virginia
Tibet Himalaya Initiative, CU Boulder
Center for Asian Studies, CU Boulder